My Ramdam

Media Technology Marketing.
Every week, a recap of the latest news in media,
new technology and marketing.

26
Jul

My Ramdam by My Media # 124

week 30 – 2013

Television

LCI, COMING FREE ON DTT SOON ?

Last week, representatives voted an amendment to Art 42-3 of the 30th of September 1986 law, which now allows the CSA (the audiovisual industry regulator) to decide whether a channel can move from paid to free on DTT. This is very good news for LCI, the TF1 group’s news channel, which has been trying for a few years to make the move. The two free news channels, BFM TV and iTELE, do not really approve of this amendment. Alain Weill, the owner of BFM TV denounces the decision because « There isn’t enough room for 3 news channels. LCI will fail, and we, like iTELE, will come out of it weakened ». To be continued…

« KAAMELOTT » BACK SOON ON M6

Alexandre Astier, director and actor of the cult medieval comedy series « Kaamelott », announced to TV Mag, that the show would be back on TV screens. The sitcom which gives a funny take on King Arthur’s adventures will be back with new episodes on M6. Alexandre Astier is currently also planning on creating a « Kaamelott » trilogy of movis, and the new TV episodes will serve as a junction between the last episodes and the movies. Therefore, fans will have to wait for the three movies to be in the works before seeing the new episodes on TV.

 

Press

THREE FORMER WRITERS FOR « BE » LAUNCH THEIR WEBZINE

Three former writers for Lagardère Active’s Be magazine have started their own women’s magazine, called Cheekmagazine.fr, the name being a contraction of chic and geek. The three women are targeting women 25 to 35. To be revealed soon!

A NEW EDITOR IN CHIEF AT LIBERATION

Liberation’s staff voted, by 50,2%, for Fabrice Rousselot to take over the editorial staff of the French daily. He will be replacing Nicolas Demorand who was cumulating that job with the functions of president of the board and director of publication. The new editor in chief’s main mission is to bring the paper’s circulation back up while pacifying relations between the editorial staff and management. Indeed, Demorand was heavily criticized for certain choices, including the controversial headlines on Bernard Arnault, and rumors about an unproven Swiss account held by Laurent Fabius. On top of this, the paper’s sales plumeted under Demorand’s leadership. The beginning of 2013 has been particularly difficult (a 12,7% drop in circulation), although digital subscriptions increased significantly, according to the OJD (the press sector’s circulation certification organization).

JOURS DE FRANCE, DEAR MAGAZINE OF OUR CHILDHOOD…

The women’s weekly Jours de France, which was printed between 1958 and 1989, will be back in kiosks in August. According to Telerama, the Figaro group will launch a test issue on August 7th for 4,90€. The magazine dedicated to celebrities will mostly talk about royal families, under the leadership of Stéphane Bern, TV host as well as columnist for the Figaro Madame and Figaro Magazine. The magazine’s only mission is to find its audience to not die out… a second time !

 

Web and mobile

SMARTPHONE SALES JUST KEEP GOING

In the second quarter of 2013, worldwide smartphone sales increased again reaching 237,9 million units sold, a 52,3% increase over Q2 2012 ! While the two leaders, Apple and Samsung, saw sales increase by 20% and 43,9% respectively, they did lose some market share. Nonetheless, in Q2 2013, the two represented half of all smartphone sales with the Korean giant slightly ahead of the Cupertino powerhouse.

 

Ads and Brands

COCA-COLA MAKES THE WORLD SMILE

« Open a Coca-Cola, Open happiness ! » At least that’s what Coca-Cola is trying to show by starting a new challenge : to male people smile ! After personalized bottles, the brand continues to position consumers at the center of its communication. For its « Smile back » project, a team of young brand ambassadors went to meet Canadians, Chileans, Tunisians… on bikes; The concept? Each person who smiles back at them will get a free Coca-Cola, glasses or even a bike. This video increases a little more the brand’s sympathy factor.
Coca-Cola Ad: Smile back!

MC DONALD’S AND CLOSE-UPS !

Putting food back at the heart of its communication, McDonald’s launched a new print campaign with 4 creatives showing extreme closeups of its flagship burgers, without even a logo. Enough to make the burger chain’s fans’ mouths water! The print ads are accompanied by 3 TV spots showing funny reactions to the print ads:
Mc Donald’s Ad: Sundae

My Ramdam

Media Technologie Marketing
Chaque semaine, un concentré d’actualités portant sur la santé des medias, les nouvelles technologies et le marketing.

26
Jul

My Ramdam by My Media # 124

Semaine 30 – 2013

Télévision

LCI, BIENTOT SUR LA TNT GRATUITE ?

Les députés ont voté cette semaine un texte qui propose une modification de l’article 42-3 de la loi du 30 septembre 1986 qui permet désormais au CSA de décider du passage d’une chaîne payante sur la TNT gratuite. Une très bonne nouvelle pour LCI, la chaîne du groupe TF1, qui milite depuis plusieurs années pour bénéficier d’une meilleure exposition. Mais les deux chaînes d’information de la TNT, BFM TV et I-Télé, ne voient pas d’un très bon œil cet amendement. « Il n’y a pas la place pour trois chaînes d’information. LCI ne réussira pas. Et nous, comme i-Télé, nous serons affaiblis » a dénoncé le patron de BFM TV, Alain Weill. Affaire à suivre…

« KAAMELOTT » DE RETOUR SUR M6

Alexandre Astier, acteur-réalisateur de la célèbre série « Kaamelott », a annoncé à TV Mag son retour sur le petit écran. Cette série qui conte de façon humoristique les aventures du roi Arthur reviendra sur M6 avec de nouveaux épisodes. Alexandre Astier envisage pour l’instant de créer la trilogie « Kaamelott » pour le grand écran et ces nouveaux épisodes ont pour but de faire la jonction entre la dernière saison diffusée et les films. Il faudrat donc attendre que les trois films prévus au cinéma soient « sur les rails » avant de pouvoir voir la série sur le petit écran.

 

Presse

TROIS ANCIENNES JOURNALISTES DE « BE » LANCENT LEUR WEB-MAGAZINE

Trois anciennes journalistes du magazine Be (groupe Lagardère Active) se lancent dans leur propre aventure en lançant un nouveau féminin intitulé Cheekmagazine.fr dont le nom  est une contraction entre les mots chic et geek. Ces trois journalistes visent ainsi les femmes âgées de 25 à 35 ans. A découvrir rapidement !

UN NOUVEAU DIRECTEUR A LA REDACTION DE LIBERATION

Le personnel du quotidien Libération a voté, à 50,2%, l’arrivée de Fabrice Rousselot à la direction de la rédaction. Il va remplacer Nicolas Demorand qui cumulait cette fonction avec celles de président du directoire et directeur de la publication. Le nouveau directeur aura pour mission principale de relancer le quotidien et de pacifier les relations entre la rédaction et sa direction. Car Nicolas Demorand a été critiqué sur ses choix de Une à plusieurs reprises, notamment celle de Bernard Arnault. Mais surtout pour celle sur les rumeurs d’un compte en Suisse de Laurent Fabius. De plus, les ventes du journal n’ont cessé de diminuer sous l’ancienne présidence. Le début d’année 2013 aurait été particulièrement difficile (recul de 12,7% des ventes) bien que les abonnements numériques aient fortement progressé, selon l’OJD.

JOURS DE FRANCE, CHER MAGAZINE DE NOTRE ENFANCE…

L’hebdomadaire féminin Jours de France paru de 1958 à 1989 va faire son retour au mois d’août dans les kiosques. Selon Télérama, le groupe Figaro devrait lancer un numéro test dans les kiosques le 7 août prochain à 4,90€. Le magazine consacré aux peoples devrait plus particulièrement traiter de la vie des têtes couronnées, le tout sous la plume de Stéphane Bern déjà éditorialiste de Figaro Madame et Figaro Magazine. La seule mission du titre sera de retrouver un public pour ne pas connaitre un destin funeste… une deuxième fois !

 

Web et mobile

LES VENTES DE SMARTPHONES NE CESSENT D’AUGMENTER

Au second trimestre 2013, les ventes mondiales de smartphones progressent encore atteignant 237,9 millions d’unités soit une hausse de 52,3% vs le second trimestre 2012. Si les deux leaders mondiaux, Apple et Samsung, voient leurs ventes augmenter de respectivement 20% et 43,9%, ils perdent des parts de marché. Au premier trimestre 2013, les deux géants représentaient à eux deux 50% des ventes de smartphones avec une longueur d’avance pour le fabricant coréen.

 

Publicité et Marques

COCA-COLA FAIT SOURIRE LE MONDE

« Ouvrez un Coca-Cola, ouvrez du bonheur ! » C’est en tout qu’à ce que Coca-Cola essaie de démontrer en se lançant un nouveau défi : faire sourire les gens ! Après les bouteilles personnalisées, la marque continue sur son objectif de positionner les consommateurs au centre de ses actions de communication. Pour le projet « Smile back », une équipe de jeunes ambassadeurs de la marque est partie à la rencontre des Canadiens, Chiliens, Tunisiens… à vélos. Le concept ? Chaque personne leur rendant leur sourire se verra offrir une bouteille de Coca-Cola, des lunettes, ou même un vélo. Cette vidéo augmente encore un peu plus le capital sympathie de la marque.
Pub Coca-Cola: Smile back!

MC DONALD’S ET LES GROS PLANS !

Remettant la nourriture au cœur de sa communication, Mc Donald’s lance quatre prints représentants ses produits phares en très gros plans, sans logo. De quoi faire saliver les plus amateurs de la chaîne américaine ! Ces affiches sont accompagnées de 3 spots TV mettant en scène de façon humoristique la réaction des protagonistes à la vue de ces affiches. Les gourmands s’y reconnaitront !
Pub Mc Donald’s: L’entretien