My Ramdam

Media Technology Marketing.
Every week, a recap of the latest news in media,
new technology and marketing.

24
Aug

My Ramdam by My Media # 227

week 34 – 2015

Television

CANAL+ REVEALS ITS NEW SEASON CLIP
The premium channel made a 4-minute long 8-bit animation film to showcase its new line-up, accompanied by an electro remix of Freed from Desire. On the menu: the new free programs with their new hosting teams, movies, football… and a hyper central Petit Journal (with the introduction of Eric and Quentin who find a strange « + » on the show’s set) which somewhat overshadows Les Guignols which only make a brief appearance… Check it out here!

Web & mobile

BUZZFEED VALUED AT 1,5 BILLION DOLLARS
American media group NBC Universal invested 200 million dollars in Buzzfeed, at a 1,5 billion dollar valuation. NBC, which is focused mostly on TV, is aiming to increase its web presence, and reach the younger demographics which watch less TV. The new partners are planning many collaborations: on TV content and movies, but also cross-media projects with agencies and brands.

FACEBOOK, THE FIRST SOURCE OF TRAFFIC FOR MEDIA BRANDS
Parse.ly studied a panel of over (mostly anglophone) 400 media websites, and more specifically the origin of their traffic. Google, through its organic search but especially through Google News, had always been the number one way to get to a media site. However, Facebook just surpassed it in June, now bringing 39% of the panel’s traffic vs 36% from Google. Between May and July 2015, social networkds represented 43% of the traffic.

THE RECIPE FOR AN ENGAGING AND SUCCESSFUL INSTAGRAM PICTURE
Dan Zarella studied almost 1,5 million photos on Instagram and summarised many tips to increase the number of likes and comments in a nice little infographic. Photos without filters bring more engagement. A face on a picture increases likes by 35%. Alos, warmer colors get less likes than cold ones. Finally, the more hashtags you put, the more likes and comments you get. #Checkout this #infographic #asap. #Nofilter.

Advertising

TAKING YOU WHERE THE MUSIC TAKES YOU
We’re already well into summer and many of us already miss their vacation… There’s nothing like an airline commercial to bring you back in the air in a few minutes! KLM has just released its new spot which you could easily mistake for the trailer of the next blockbuster. Strange tentacles go through the streets of New York, Hong Kong or encore Rio de Janeiro. The arms of this « monster » turn out to be giant stereo cables linking Amsterdam to all the destinations offered by KLM.

 

HERE COME THE MEN IN BLACK
Air New Zealand recruited the All Blacks to shoot its latest onboard security video for passengers. Dressed as Men in Black, they do a cover of the famous Will Smith song in the secret headquarters of MIB, surrounded by all sorts of creatures including Frank the Pug. A parody that makes the security video more fun, reminding us of the ultra chic Air France version.

My Ramdam

Media Technologie Marketing
Chaque semaine, un concentré d’actualités portant sur la santé des medias, les nouvelles technologies et le marketing.

24
Aug

My Ramdam by My Media # 227

semaine 34 – 2015

Télévision

CANAL+ DEVOILE SON CLIP DE RENTREE
Plus de 4 minutes de film d’animation pour nous présenter les programmes de la rentrée avec des animateurs pixélisés et rythmé par un remix électro de Freed from Desire. Au menu, les émissions en clair et leurs nouveaux locataires (animateurs, chroniqueurs), du cinéma, du foot… et un Petit Journal hyper central (introduction d’Eric et Quentin qui trouvent un étrange « + » sur le plateau de l’émission) qui éclipse légèrement les Guignols dont on ne verra qu’une brève apparition…

Web & mobile

BUZZFEED VALORISE A 1,5 MILLIARD DE DOLLARS
Le groupe média américain NBC Universal a investi 200 millions de dollars dans le site Buzzfeed. Cette nouvelle injection valorise le site à 1.5 milliard de dollars. NBC, dont l’univers gravite autour du petit écran, entend à travers cette opération renforcer sa visibilité sur le web et surtout approcher une cible plus jeune, moins encline à regarder la télévision. De nombreux partenariats entre les deux entités sont en vue : collaboration sur les contenus TV, les films mais égalements des projets communs avec les agences de pub et les marques.

FACEBOOK, 1ERE SOURCE DE TRAFIC DES MARQUES MEDIAS
Parse.ly a étudié un panel de plus de 400 sites médias (principalement anglophones) et plus précisément leurs sources de trafic. Alors que Google, via la recherche naturelle mais surtout via Google Actualités, a toujours été le premier moyen d’arriver sur un site média, Facebook a pris les rênes depuis le mois de juin apportant désormais 39% du trafic du panel vs 36% depuis Google. Entre mai et juillet 2015, les réseaux sociaux ont représenté 43% des sources de trafic.

UNE RECETTE POUR FAIRE UNE PHOTO ENGAGEANTE SUR INSTAGRAM
Dan Zarella a étudié près d’1,5 millions de photos sur Instagram et a regroupé dans une infographie de nombreux tips qui permettraient d’augmenter le nombre de likes et commentaires. On apprend que les photos sans filtre sont plus engageantes. Un visage sur une photo apporte 35% de likes en plus. Ou encore, que les couleurs chaudes sont moins likées que les couleurs froides. Enfin, il paraitrait que le nombre de hashtags soit corrélé avec le nombre de likes et commentaires. #Découvrez #vite #cette #infographie #ici. #Nofilter.

Publicité

TAKING YOU WHERE THE MUSIC TAKES YOU
L’été est déjà bien avancé et chacun de nous est nostalgique de ses vacances… Rien de tel que des pubs de compagnies aériennes pour repartir en l’air quelques minutes ! KLM nous présente son nouveau spot que l’on pourrait confondre avec la bande-annonce d’un blockbuster estival. D’étranges tentacules se faufilent dans les rues de New York, Hong Kong ou encore Rio de Janeiro. Les bras de ce « monstre » s’avèrent être des prises jack géantes chargées de relier Amsterdam à toutes les destinations proposées par KLM.

 

 

HERE COME THE MEN IN BLACK
Les All Blacks ont été recrutés par Air New Zealand pour diffuser les messages de sécurité en avion à tous les passagers qui voyageront sur la compagnie. Grimés en Men in Black, ils ont repris le célèbre rap de Will Smith dans les locaux secrets du MIB, entourés par toutes sortes de créatures et accompagnés par Frank le carlin. Une parodie qui tente de rendre plus distrayantes les consignes de sécurité et qui rappelle la version ultra chic d’Air France.